Mairis Briedis v Jai Opetaia: Cruiserweight world title fight preview and how to watch live

Your preview of the Briedis v Opetaia world title bout on the Gold Coast, Saturday 2 July, plus when and how to watch live at Main Event on Kayo.

Mairis Briedis (left) and Jai Opetaia (right) last week. Picture: Albert Perez/Getty Images
Mairis Briedis (left) and Jai Opetaia (right) last week. Picture: Albert Perez/Getty Images

Australian boxer Jai Opetaia fights Latvian reigning world champion Mairis Briedis for the IBF and Ring Magazine cruiserweight world title this Saturday night (2 July) on the Gold Coast.

Order now to watch live on Main Event at Kayo and scroll down for a full preview.

Briedis v Opetaia preview

Saturday night, undefeated 27-year-old cruiserweight Jai Opetaia from Sydney will challenge 37-year-old Mairis Briedis for the IBF world title of their weight division.

Briedis heads to Australia having lost just one of 28 career fights, 20 by knockout. Ten years his junior, Opetaia has just seven less fights to his name heading into his first tilt at the crown winning 17 by KO.

Opetaia became Australia's youngest ever Olympic boxer after winning the 2012 Australian under 91kg heavyweight title and was 17 when he competed in London. His last fight was a TKO win over Queenslander Daniel Russell in December.

It goes without saying Saturday is the biggest fight of his life.

Jai Opetaia is ready for this Saturday. Picture: Chris Hyde/Getty Images
Jai Opetaia is ready for this Saturday. Picture: Chris Hyde/Getty Images

What time is the Briedis v Opetaia fight?

Coverage of the undercard live on Main Event at Kayo starts from 7pm (AEST), 6.30pm (ACST) and 5pm (AWST), Saturday 2 July.

Briedis and Opetaia are expected to take to the ring by 9pm (AEST), 8.30pm (ACST) and 7pm (AWST).

Where is the fight?

Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre, Broadbeach.

How do I watch the fight?

The Briedis v Opetaia world title fight will be broadcast live on Main Event at Kayo. Start your Kayo 14-day free trial today.

Opetaia celebrates his win against Russell in Brisbane last December. Picture: Chris Hyde/Getty Images
Opetaia celebrates his win against Russell in Brisbane last December. Picture: Chris Hyde/Getty Images

How can I watch more boxing?

See more boxing on Kayo here.

Latest news I need to know ahead of Saturday’s fight?

Read it here at CodeSports including Jeff Fenech’s shock call on Opetaia.

Where can I read more boxing?

For the latest see the boxing section on CodeSports, or visit the boxing and MMA section on your main state news website – Courier Mail / Herald Sun / Adelaide Advertiser / Daily Telegraph