Sydney Roosters v Melbourne Storm: NRL preview, news and how to watch live

All you need to know in the lead up to Roosters v Storm at the SCG, on Saturday 11 June, including news updates, past history plus when and how to watch live on Kayo.

Cameron Munster remains a chance to play after Wednesday’s Origin 1 win. Picture: Ashley Feder/Getty Images
Cameron Munster remains a chance to play after Wednesday’s Origin 1 win. Picture: Ashley Feder/Getty Images

Two of the NRL’s heavyweights for more than a decade meet once again this Saturday 11 June, when the Roosters meet arch-nemesis Melbourne Storm. Here’s how to watch the match and catch up on all the news in the lead-up.

Roosters v Storm preview

Somewhat surprisingly, the Roosters and Storm have entered the Origin period in very up and down form.

The Storm remain second on the ladder behind Penrith, but before their last win against Manly were humbled by the Panthers 32-6 in Magic Round at Suncorp Stadium, then routed by North Queensland in Townsville by 30.

A sequence of win-loss win-loss is starting to develop for the seventh-placed Roosters, the latest of which came on Sunday, going down by six to Canberra.

Having had the bye, Melbourne will have a full two weeks preparation for this game.

Xavier Coates won’t play for Melbourne due to Wednesday night’s injury, but Cameron Munster remains a chance. Likewise, James Tedesco is not expected to play, despite being named.

Ryan Papenhuyzen is a week away and expected to return against the Brisbane Broncos.

What time is Roosters v Storm?

The game starts at 5.30pm (AEST) on Saturday 11 June.

Where is it being played?

The Sydney Cricket Ground.

How do I watch the game?

The game will be broadcast on Kayo as part of its NRL coverage. Not only can you catch the LIVE fixture and also the replay, but if you miss the action, you can catch up with Kayo Minis and Kayo Bites.

How to watch NRL live here plus start your Kayo 14-day free trial today.

How can I watch more Roosters and Storm matches?

Sydney Roosters team page on Kayo

Melbourne Storm team page on Kayo

Watch more NRL thanks to Kayo

What NRL news do I need to know ahead of Saturday?

FULL TEAM LISTS and the late mail are confirmed plus the latest for NRL SuperCoach.

CodeSports is your one stop shop for all the NRL news you need ahead of round 14.

INCLUDING All Black’s cross code links with the Melbourne Storm, the Broncos join race for Cam Munster, MATTY JOHNS on the biggest issue breaking rookie coaches and how much it costs to be a finals contender.

Jared Waerea-Hargreaves won’t play this week. Picture: Jason McCawley/Getty Images
Jared Waerea-Hargreaves won’t play this week. Picture: Jason McCawley/Getty Images

History between the Roosters and Storm

The rivalry between these two sides has intensified ever since Storm great Cooper Cronk made the now famous move to Bondi in 2017 and beat his old club in the next year’s Grand Final – with one arm – having remarkably overcome a fractured shoulder to play.

Since that day, the Roosters have won just two of the past seven against Melbourne and have not defeated their southern rivals since the 2019 preliminary final, also at the SCG. It was 46-nil last year in Newcastle.

Team Lists

All the late mail here.

Sydney Roosters

1. James Tedesco, 2. Daniel Tupou, 3. Paul Momirovski, 4. Joey Manu, 5. Joseph Suaalii, 6. Sam Walker, 7. Luke Keary, 8. Lindsay Collins, 9. Drew Hutchison, 10. Siosiua Taukeiaho, 11. Angus Crichton, 12. Sitili Tupouniua, 13. Nat Butcher

Bench: 14. Connor Watson, 15. Fletcher Baker, 16. Egan Butcher, 17. Terrell May

Reserves: 18. Lachlan Lam, 19. Daniel Suluka-Fifita, 20. Ben Marschke, 21. Naufahu Whyte, 22. Kevin Naiqama, 23. Billy Smith

Melbourne Storm

1. Nick Meaney, 2. Dean Ieremia, 3. Marion Seve, 4. Justin Olam, 5. Xavier Coates, 6. Cameron Munster, 7. Jahrome Hughes, 8. Jesse Bromwich, 9. Harry Grant, 10. Nelson Asofa-Solomona, 11. Felise Kaufusi, 12. Kenny Bromwich, 13. Josh King

Bench: 14. Brandon Smith, 15. Tui Kamikamica, 16. Trent Loiero, 17. Alec MacDonald

Reserves: 18. Chris Lewis, 19. Jayden Nikorima, 20. Tyran Wishart, 21. Jordan Grant, 22. Bronson Garlick 23. Will Warbrick, 24. Grant Anderson

Where can I watch more round 14 NRL games?

North Queensland Cowboys v St George Illawarra Dragons

Gold Coast Titans v South Sydney Rabbitohs

Brisbane Broncos v Canberra Raiders

Wests Tigers v Manly Sea Eagles

Newcastle Knights v Penrith Panthers

New Zealand Warriors v Cronulla Sharks 

Canterbury Bulldogs v Parramatta Eels

Where can I read more rugby league?

See the NRL section on CodeSports, or visit the rugby league section on your main state news website – Daily Telegraph / Courier Mail / Herald Sun / Adelaide Advertiser


Get ready for the newest centrepiece of NSW’s original home of sport.

A new world-class, home-away-from-home for sport aficionados to come together to witness history and fuel their collective passions. The Sporting Club of Sydney combines best-in-class health and well-being facilities that have been reimagined, redesigned and expanded.

The ultimate sporting and lifestyle membership encompass the newly redesigned Allianz Stadium and the revered Sydney Cricket Ground.

Membership is on sale now, click here for more information.